ADVERTISEMENT

innovation

Twitter users warned not to delete their accounts – here’s why

ADVERTISEMENT

If you are considering leaving Twitter, deleting your account can be a very dangerous step, allowing criminals, scammers, trolls and others to use your good name to commit misinformation, misinformation or fraud. make competent.

No one expected Elon Musk’s takeover of Twitter after essentially forcing the richest man in the world to complete his more valuable purchase of the social network. But the scattered business decisions made within days of Musk taking control shook Twitter to its foundations. Thousands of employees were laid off or fired, entire departments were destroyed, and questions were raised about Twitter’s ability to moderate content or even maintain uptime, both regular and high-profile members. I’m leaving But if you’re thinking about joining them, there’s one major thing you shouldn’t do: delete your Twitter account.

more than forbesIs Elon Musk Bringing Encrypted Messages to the $8 Twitter Blue Party?

In just six days, 877,000 Twitter accounts were deactivated

In just six days from Oct. 27, Statista reports that 877,000 Twitter accounts have been deactivated by users.

in just six days.

Mastodon, a federated social network that has benefited from the Twitter chaos, has seen its membership grow by more than a million users in the past month. It’s tempting if you get enough of Elon’s jokes to take down the hammer and deactivate the account and join the takedown escapade. But many experts warn that this could be a big mistake.

What is the difference between deactivating and deleting a Twitter account?

twitter help points Difference between account deactivation and deletion As with the former, after 30 days, the latter is the first step in the process. After that 30-day period, it also states that “your username will no longer be associated with your account.”

Also read  Science and Innovation Center Visium / Audreys Ambrasus Architects

The danger starts with deleting your account because your Twitter username will be thrown back into the pool and can be caught by anyone setting up a new account. Depending on your threat model, this could lead to nefarious impersonation using your name and job title. That’s why everyone from law firms, privacy and security experts to political analysts and just plain concerned users are stuck. There have been a large number of warnings. To do. down instead of deleting your Twitter account

Twitter Blue muddles the verification waters: shut down, don’t delete

With the soon-to-return Twitter Blue membership, a recognized username, and an $8 blue check that people can still associate with meaningful user verification, the dangers become relatively apparent. There is a mix of paid checks where only someone paid the verification fee and older checks where the user was vetted to meet specific prominence criteria before being verified.

Well, so here’s what you need to do to close your account and make it private, keep your username safe instead of deactivating and deleting it:

Go to Settings and Support of your Twitter account and look for the Settings and Privacy option.

Select the Privacy & Security option and then Audience & Tagging.

Finally, hit the Protect switch and all is well.

now your tweets are protected, which means only approved followers can see them, and anyone who wants to follow you has to request access. This means you have two more options; First, you can block all existing followers and delete all your tweets and direct messages to delete your account and effectively protect your good name. Or second, you can maintain a private Twitter account and choose who can be part of your network, while keeping everyone else out. The latter may feel like it puts you in control, but such echo chambers aren’t really what social media interactions are all about. In any case, the choice is yours.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

Leave a Comment